#### **SCRUTINY AND OVERVIEW COMMITTEE**

Minutes of the meeting held on Thursday 21<sup>st</sup> May 2015 at the rising of Annual Council in the Town Hall, Croydon

#### MINUTES - PART A

**Present:** Councillors Sara Bashford, Emily Benn, Carole Bonner,

Sherwan Chowdhury, Mario Creatura, Sean Fitzsimons and Patricia

Hay-Justice, Madame Mayor (Chair)

# A01/15 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR, DEPUTY CHAIR AND VICE CHAIRMAN (Agenda item 1)

#### **RESOLVED -**

The Committee agreed that:

- i) Councillor Sean Fitzsimons be appointed Chair;
- ii) Councillor Carole Bonner be appointed Deputy Chair (majority group); and
- iii) Councillor Sara Bashford be appointed Vice Chairman (minority group).

#### And that:

- (i) Three scrutiny Sub-Committees be established
- (ii) The remit of the Sub-Committees as set out in paragraph 4.3 of the report be agreed
- (iii) Some parameters for the frequency and content of scrutiny meetings be agreed (paragraphs 4.5 to 4.8 of the report)
- (iv) And the dates of Committee meetings be noted (section 5 of the report)

# A02/15 APPOINTMENT OF SUB-COMMITTEES OF THE SCRUTINY AND OVERVIEW COMMITTEE (Agenda item 2)

#### **RESOLVED -**

The Committee agreed that the following Sub-Committee memberships and Chair and Vice Chair be appointed:

## i) Children & Young People Scrutiny Sub-Committee

#### Members:

Majority group	Minority group
Sean Fitzsimons (Vice Chair)	Sara Bashford (Chairman)
Jamie Audsley	Margaret Bird
Bernadette Khan	Simon Brew
Matthew Kyeremeh	
Andrew Pelling	

## Reserve Members:

Majority group	Minority group
Maddie Henson	Sue Bennett
Shafi Khan	Maria Gatland
Andrew Rendle	Andy Stranack
Manju Shahul-Hameed	
David Wood	

# ii) Health, Social Care & Housing Scrutiny Sub-Committee

# Members:

Majority group	Minority group
Carole Bonner (Chair)	Michael Neal (Vice Chair)
Pat Clouder	Andy Stranack
Sean Fitzsimons	
Joy Prince	

## Reserve Members:

Majority group	Minority group
Sherwan Chowdhury	Dudley Mead
Karen Jewitt	Margaret Mead
Oliver Lewis	
David Lewis	

# iii) Streets and Environment Scrutiny Sub-Committee

## Members:

Majority group	Minority group
Sean Fitzsimons (Chair)	Sara Bashford (Vice Chairman)
Stephen Mann	Donald Speakman
Karen Jewitt	James Thompson
David Wood	

## Reserve Members:

Majority group	Minority group
Jamie Audsley	Jeet Bains
Sherwan Chowdhury	Michael Neal
Pat Ryan	Badsha Quadir
Paul Scott	